Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES)

In the United States and Canada, ARES is a corps of trained amateur radio operator volunteers organized to assist in public service and emergency communications. Amateur radio provides a means of communication "when all else fails". ARES groups are volunteer amateur radio operators who come together for the common purpose of providing emergency and/or auxiliary communications service to public safety and public service organizations. Most individual ARES units are autonomous and operate locally. ARES groups are generally organized by city or county and are made up of volunteers from the local area. The only requirements to join ARES are a willingness to serve and a valid amateur radio license. Groups are organized locally by the person holding the position of Emergency Coordinator (EC). The EC maintains full responsibility for organizing the local groups and serving as their leader during operations. The EC is an ARRL member, and is generally the point of contact for those wishing to perform Emergency Communications in their local area.

For additional information, visit the following website:

Would you like to put your communication skills to use for public service or disaster?

ARES wants and needs you! It doesn’t matter whether you are a Technician, General, or Amateur Extra. There is a place for you. The local ARES Net is on Tuesday night at 8:00 pm on the 146.76 MHz repeater [– 0.6 offset / 146.2 MHz tone].

There is a group that meets the first Saturday of each month from 10:00 am – 12:00 noon at the Abilene Public Library conference room in the Mall.

For more information contact Allen Brooks, KF5SPQ, Taylor County Emergency Coordinator at 325.701.4683.

Section Emergency Coordinator
  David Overton, KF5WDJ
District 3 Emergency Coordinator
  Gary Armstrong, KC5NOX
Taylor County Emergency Coordinator
  Allen Brooks, KF5SPQ
  Phone: Mobile 325.514.2430 / Home 325.701.4683 
Jones County Emergency Coordinator
  Michael Jones, K5FLD
Nolan County Emergency Coordinator
  Mike Haigood, KE5YF
Callahan County Emergency Coordinator